Trainees Committee

The RCP Trainees Committee (TC) comprises solely medical trainees, and reflects the RCP’s commitment to encouraging physicians in training to develop active roles in influencing the future of medicine.

Trainee Committee

The TC has been heavily involved in shaping the new physician training pathway. We have given a trainee voice to the changes from CMT to IMT. We have also lobbied for the alternative certificate, so that no doctor gets left behind.

Areas of work and projects

TC working groups focus on a variety of issues, including improving communication between doctors, improving working lives and challenging educational dogma.

The committee has also contributed to a number of projects, including:


Meetings and membership

The TC contains seats for 35 members: 33 regional representatives, co-chairs and a deputy chair. Members meet three times a year and conduct discussions among themselves, with senior RCP officers (the president, vice presidents and registrar).

Many of the TC’s discussions take place outside these meetings, via email. The TC often produces position statements and other documents based on these discussions.

Trainees Committee representatives

Representatives for each deanery are elected by and represent the trainees, both within the RCP on Council and in committees, and outside the RCP at the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges (AoMRC), the British Medical Association (BMA) and the Joint Royal Colleges of Physicians Training Board (JRCPTB).

Representatives also act on your behalf at the local level of each deanery on the Local Education and Training Board (LETB).

Meet your representatives

Dr Melanie Nana

Trainees Committee co-chair

Melanie Greybkg

Dr Megan Rutter

Trainees Committee co-chair

Megan Rutter

Dr Charles Badu-Boateng

Trainees Committee – CMT/IMT/ACCS-AM representative

Charles (1)

Dr Aicha Bouraoui

Trainees Committee representative – Eastern

Aicha Bouraoui

Dr Susannah Brockbank

Trainees Committee representative - Mersey

Susannah Brockbank 0 0 0 0 0 0

Dr Puskar Bura

Trainees Committee representative – Peninsula

Puskar Bura 1 (1)

Alexandra Jayne Burgess

Trainees Committee representative – Wales

Alexandra Burgess

Dr Rachel Clingan

Trainees Committee representative – South London

Rachel Clingan

Dr Linford Fernandes

Trainees Committee representative - Yorkshire

IMG 1756 0 0

Dr Alison Gowland

Trainees Committee – CMT/IMT/ACCS-AM representative


Dr Ricia Gwenter

Trainees Committee representative – Wessex

Ricia Gwenter

Dr Wenhao Li

Trainees Committee representative – London (North East)

Wenhao Li

Dr Nicola Maddox

Trainees Committee observer

Nicola Maddox

Dr Anthony Martinelli

Trainees Committee representative – Eastern

06 Anthony IMG 0359B Photoroom (2)

Dr Caitlin Morgan

Trainees Committee representative – Severn

IMG 1762

Dr Amy Needleman

Trainees Committee – CMT representative

Amy (1) 0

Dr Latif Raiyan Rahman

Trainees Committee representative – East Midlands

Latif Raiyan Rahman

Catherine Rowan

Trainees Committee representative – Yorkshire

Catherine Rowan

Dr Andrew Spence

Trainees Committee representative – Northern Ireland

Andrew Spence

Dr Duncan Street

Trainees Committee representative – West Midlands

Duncan Street

Dr Rebecca Thom

Trainees Committee deputy chair

IMG 1660

Dr Natalie Vanderpant

Trainees Committee representative – London (North West)

Natalie Vanderpant 0

Ash Birtles

Trainees Committee representative – Health inequalities clinical fellow

Ash Birtles 0 0